The New Admin UI

From version 2.4, there is a new admin interface available. It's reachable on the path /admin-beta (example: https://your-bms-url.com/admin-beta). This interface is intended to allow easier administration of Bboxes through forms rather than through YAML.

In the future, this will become the only interface for managing Bboxes.

Adding a New Bbox

An administrator can add a Bbox to be managed by BMS by navigating to the "Sites" page (click the Sites link in the navbar), then clicking the "Add" button and filling in the form.

Unlike the old interface, Bboxes are added and edited individually. This makes it easier for multiple people to work on BMS admin at the same time, as long as they aren't editing the same Bbox at the same time.

Onboarding Many Similar Bboxes using the New Admin UI

It's common for many Bboxes to require the same settings. To make managing this easier, the new interface allows an administrator to create "config sets" which can be reused between Bboxes.

Config Sets

A config set is a bundle of Bbox configuration that's associated with some other Bbox property. There are two types of config sets: tenant config sets and SNMP config sets. For example, you can create a tenant config set, and then all Bboxes for that tenant will get those settings.

Config sets are managed through the new admin UI. Look for the "Tenant Config Sets" and "SNMP Config Sets" links in the navbar.

Config sets are used by the rapid take on UI.

The Take On UI

The take on UI is a condensed UI for rapidly adding Bboxes. Some fields that are normally free text, like the Bbox's tenant, are dropdowns in the take on UI. This forces the selection of a tenant with a config set.

The take on UI is accessible either as an extra editing mode for an administrator, or as the sole Bbox management option for certain users using role based authentication (see the User Management section for how to do create a take on only user).

Updating a Config Set

When you make changes to a config set, or add a new config set for an existing tenant, no changes will be made to existing Bboxes. Bboxes will use the new changes to the config set:

  1. When they are added new.
  2. When they are next edited and saved through the take on UI.
  3. When an administrator clicks the "Update Existing Sites" button for the config set.

Using the Take On UI Together with the Normal Site Management UI

It's possible to use both the take on UI and the normal site management UI on the same Bbox, although there are some interactions that one should be aware of.

1. Whenever anyone saves a Bbox through the Take On UI, all applicable config sets are applied.

This might overwrite config that was specified in the normal UI.

2. Config Sets are not automatically applied to existing Bboxes.

If you need to update existing Bboxes with a new config set, you can either click the "Update Existing Sites" button for the config set, or edit an individual Bbox that you want to update in the take on UI.

3. Config is merged where possible, but if there are conflicts the last action always wins.

There are certain fields that appear in the normal site management UI, and don't appear in the config sets. These fields can be safely set, and will be unaffected by changes made using the take on UI.

Similarly, fields that appear in both the normal site management UI and the take on UI can be safely set. These fields will be able to be updated through the take on UI.

This only gets confusing when dealing with fields that appear in config sets. The last action wins, so if you edit a Bbox through the normal site management UI, it is possible to change these values for an individual Bbox. If you choose to do this, be aware that anyone who later updates sites with a config set change, or edits this Bbox through the take on UI, could unintentionally overwrite your change with the value in the config set.

Best Practices

If a Bbox is being managed using a config set, changes should be made using the config set rather than editing the individual Bbox. This will make it easier to update the value using the config set, and will allow users of the take on UI to edit the Bbox if necessary.

If a Bbox doesn't match the config set, add it through the normal site management UI and use a different tenant name. For example, you could have have two tenants: "Panoptix" for Bboxes that use the "Panoptix" config set, and "Panoptix-special" for Bboxes that need to be individually configured.

User Management

You can use role-based authentication to give someone access to the take on UI without letting them manage everything in BMS.

This is done using the Hotrod CLI.

hotrod users add --roles user <user> <fullname>

Note that if you're adding a new user that only has access to the take on UI, you must not specify any additional roles.

New admin users can be added by giving them the 'admin' role. These users will have access to the full admin UI.

hotrod users add --roles user,admin <user> <fullname>

Central Bboxes

The Take On UI supports having a "Central Bbox" for a tenant. A Central Bbox is a box that's set up to monitor the tenant's other Bboxes.

This configuration happens in two parts:

  • On the tenant config set, you configure which Bbox (if any) is the Central Bbox.
  • On each individual Bbox, you configure how the Central Bbox will connect to it.

The Central Bbox is updated whenever one of the Bboxes it needs to monitor is updated through the Take On UI. The Central Bbox's probes for all of the sites it is watching is updated at the same time, so if there are changes that were missed on another Bbox, for example if its config was changed through the normal admin UI, its config will also be updated on the Central Bbox.

The Central Bbox is also updated when the "Update Existing Sites" button is clicked for the tenant config config set.

Note: Central Bboxes do not need to have the same tenant as the Bboxes they are monitoring. This might be useful if a Central Bbox should not be using the same tenant config set, or if multiple tenants are being monitored by the same Central Bbox.